

MEMORANDUM

April 13, 2024

Policy 315, Designation of Service Regions

<u>Policy R315</u>, <u>Designation of Service Regions</u> defines which Utah System of Higher Education (USHE) institutions are responsible for providing various educational offerings to citizens in communities throughout the state. The geographic designations are intended to define where institutions may establish campuses, centers, and other physical locations and offer college options to secondary students.

The policy needs to be updated to clarify distinct service regions for community colleges, regional universities, research universities, and technical education institutions and to designate which institution fulfills particular needs within those service regions. The updated policy will also define criteria for exceptions, including Right of First Refusal, contract training, and institution requests to the Board to offer training outside of a designated service region. The policy requires the Office of the Commissioner to maintain an inventory of training offered outside of designated geographic areas.

Utah Statute

<u>Utah Code § 53B-2a-112</u> defines regional higher education degree-granting partners for technical colleges as follows:

Degree-Granting Institution	Technical College
Utah State University	Bridgerland
Weber State University	Davis
Utah Tech University	Dixie
Utah Valley University	Mountainland
Weber State University	Ogden-Weber
Southern Utah University	Southwest
Utah State University	Tooele
Utah State University	Uintah Basin

Commissioner's Recommendation

The Commissioner recommends that the Academic Education Committee provide feedback on policy concepts relating to geographic service regions and requests for exceptions to offer programs outside of the designated geographic service region.